2013_03_15_bruah013_small

During our time in the Philippines, the ARK and Elemental crew stayed on an organic rice farm.Vera Farms is an organic and sustainable farm located in the Barangay, or village, of Sibariwan. Sibariwan is in the municipality of Dumarao, which is in the province of Capiz, which is on the island of Panay, which is in the Western Visayas region of the Philippines. Confused? I don’t blame you at all! Here’s the handy Wikipedia map to get your bearings: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dumarao,_Capiz

Staying on a rice farm, as you can guess, meant we were fed the tastiest rice you will ever get to eat. (Vera Farms, can we sell your rice in Brooklyn? I know it’s a little far to export, but still, I think we can make it a win-win for everyone….)

Besides getting fed amazing food, there are many other perks to staying on a farm, namely being able to simply enjoy your surroundings. City living doesn’t allow for too much star-gazing and chicken-watching, so I tried to get in as much as I could during my trip.

Speaking of enjoying my surroundings, here are a few pictures I took while exploring the farm.  As you can see, the farm dogs (5 in total) were happy to have company on our hike through the fields.

2013_03_15_bruah012_small

2013_03_15_bruah024_small

2013_03_15_bruah034_small

2013_03_15_bruah046_small

