We’d like to introduce Katie Burke, our first Contributing Editor at The Elemental Life.  Katie will have a weekly column offering up the savvy knowledge and tricks-of-the-trade she’s learned over her past seven years of designing at some of New York City’s top Interior Design firms.  We’re so excited to have her writing here!

For her first column, Katie is sharing her favorite sources for getting beautiful (and inexpensive!) items for clients:

1. Wayfair.com This site is my absolute favorite. It’s a smorgasbord of great things from furniture to lighting to bedding to appliances. You can pretty much track down what you’re looking for for your home on this site. …and the added bonus: you get 3% credit back on each dollar you spend. So every time I place a big order for my clients, I earn credit. I repeat: “I” earn credit. 🙂

2. ShadesofLight.com I always find what I’m looking for on this site whether it be a bamboo chandelier, a bottle lamp, pictured above or a brass reading lamp.

3. PatioFurnitureStation.com A good mix of outdoor furniture and accessories that range from teak to plastic, traditional to modern. I particularly love the chair pictured above.

4. JamaliGarden.com My go-to for candles, planters, shells and the like.

5. Outdoorfabrics.com I design a lot of outdoor spaces and I hate going to the D&D Building or even shopping for fabric in general so if I need a basic outdoor fabric, this is where I go.

